MTN Hip Hop Awards Nominees announced

The third edition of the MTN Hip Hop Awards was announced on Tuesday, 15th January. The awards ceremony organized by The Tribe UG is set to celebrate the best hip hop music released in 2018 and are aimed at recognizing the hip hop musicians that made 2018 a good year for the industry.

“We delighted to be back for the third edition of the hip hop awards. 2018 was a competitive year as we saw some household names go all out in the industry. Additionally, we saw some fresh and underground talent come up to express themselves with some good vibes,” explains Felix Byaruhanga, the PR and Marketing Manager at The Tribe UG.

The announcement was made via video link on MTN Uganda’s official Facebook page.

There are 20 categories in the 3rd edition of the Awards, including ‘Song of the year’, ‘Album of the year’ and ‘Video of the year’ among others.

According to Byaruhanga, there is an opportunity for the public to vote for the best by send a message to 7197. Each musician has been given a code and for voting to take place, they’ll have to dial “UGHHA<space> Artist Code to 7197.”

In partnership with MTN Pulse, the awards ceremony will be held on 8th February 2018 at the MTN TIDAL Warehouse located at the MTN Headquarters on Jinja Road. Tickets to attend the awards ceremony are Shs20,000 ordinary and Shs50,000 for VIP.

Speaking at the event, Hellen Kirungi, the Youth Segment Manager, MTN Uganda said “MTN Uganda is once again delighted to be part of the hip hop awards as we appreciate what 2018 was like for this music genre. On top of sponsoring the awards, we are encouraging the public to participate in the fun MTN Cypher competition, an opportunity for them to showcase their rap skills; to win the top prize at stake: UShs1,000,000,”

To participate in the MTN Cypher, one is required to download the MTN Cypher pre-recorded instrumental available on the MTN social media platforms and on MTN Pulse Microsite HERE. They then record a 1-minute video on the track mentioning MTN Pulse. Participants will then share the video with friends with the hashtag #MTNCypher on social media (Facebook and Twitter – tagging @mtnug) to attract likes/retweets.

MTN Uganda shall be rewarding the person with the most likes/retweets with UGX 1,000,000. The 1st runner-up wins UGX 500,000 and 2nd runner-up UGX 250,000.

Here are the Nominees for the Awards.


Male Rapper of the Year     


Fik Fameica

Fefe Bussi

JK Lubanto

Jim Nola MC

Female Rapper of the Year

MC Yallah

Recho Rey

Tushi Polo


Race T

Album of the Year

OMUNGi Attibwa – Mun*G

On My Own – J-Wats

African Reality – AJO

Affropucino – Blixxack

Labongo & Gipir – Judas Rap Knowledge

Song of the Year

Yenze Aliko – Flex D’Paper

Terikuzikiza – Recho Rey

Iddi Aimin Dada – Fefe Bussi

Firimu – JK

Lubanto Wubila Hater – KSL

 Producer of the Year

Mio Made

Dagg Mizzo


Nase Avatar

Yung Jey Basalesale

Collaboration of the year

Paper – Navio, Ice Prince, The Mith

Red Cypher – Josh SB, Ginsu, Ruyonga, Barna, Wake & DJ Stef

Holla Remix – J-Wats, Pryce Teeba, Flex D’Paper, DelBoy, Play01, Byg Ben

Emisana N’Ekiro – Blixxack & Tucker HD

Gangasta – DJ Crim, T-Bro & Lyrical G

Inspirational song of the Year

Believe – Emmix

Brokeness – Jesse10s

Ngenze – Bawanguzi Of Souls

Press On – Barna

Life is Beautiful – Lyrical Mycheal & Anthony Faulkner

Video of the Year

Paper – Navio, Ice Prince & The Mith

Firimu – JK Lubanto

Sconto – Fik Fameica

Terikuzikiza – Recho Rey

Iddi Amin Dada – Fefe Bussi

Lyricist of the Year

AJO – Transcend

St. Nellysade – Rap Up 2017

Blixxack – The Proem

Recho Rey – Terikuzikiza

Tushi Polo – Ke’Kaseer

Rookie of the Year




Recho Rey

Tushi Polo

Sweet 16 (Verse of the year)

Slavery – Suspekt

Paper – The Mith

Mpambana – MC Yallah

The Proem – Blixxack

Snapbacks – KSL

Mixtape of The year

Kingdome Come – Dagg Mizzo

Broken Master Piece – A1 Fresh

The Intro – Larry

Trap House Memoirs – Sliq Teq

November Came Late – Ledra & MAFB

Deejay of the Year

Deejay Crim

Tha DropOut

DJ Slaughter Elly

Deejay Lolah

Personality of the Year

The Mith & J Crim – Double Trouble (Urban TV)

Toobi S.M.O.L.Z – Radio King 90.2FM

Byg Kahuna – Hot 100

Meester Deejay & Slaughter Elly – SNMS (Radio City)

Calvin Da Entertainer – UBC TV

Rap Fusion of the Year

Nielewe – Navio, Vanessa Mdee

Tubikole – Fik Fameica & Vinka

Karamu – Amani Amaniga

Habiba – St. Nellysade & AB Kale

Gukubila – Lyrical Mychael

Diaspora Act of the Year


Jesse 10S


Kleo Namiiro

Western Rapper of the Year

Amani Amaniga

Crazie Wispa

T-Bro The King Kiga

Sagio Mhza  Xamion’t

Northern Rapper of The Year

Gbaraspoken Emcee

O.P.U KobokoBoy

Toobi S.M.O.L.Z

Ken Lee

Judas Rapknowledge

Central Rapper of the year

JK Lubanto

Fefe Bussi

Jim Nola MC

Gravity Omutujju

Recho Rey

Eastern Rapper of the year

Leumas Owabajaja


Gibbon MC

MamRe Snares